AAUW Board Meeting AGENDA

Date: December 15 2020 - 5:00 p.m. to 6:30 p.m. -

OnLine Virtual Meeting Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/7960778792 Meeting ID: 796 077 8792

Officers: Laura Tew, Lena Murrill-Chapman, G Elaine Morehead, Felicia Cherry, Libby Haile, Sue Metz

Committee Chairs: Dahlia Ashford, Everlena Diggs, Tiffany Jacobs, Mary Fran Schickedantz, Saundra Yates-Evans,

Sue Metz, Tiffany Fearrington, Mary Woodrow.

Guests:

PROGRESS AND DECISIONS				
SUBJECT	SUBJECT DISCUSSION/DECISIONS			
Welcome/Introductions	Laura Tew - recognized officers, committee chairs, and member guests			
Meeting Minutes	Submitted by Elaine Ostrowski			
Financial Report	Libby Haile - Fiscal Year 2020-2021 Reports			
	Money Market \$5425.43 Primary Checking \$52,213.77			
Membership	Mary Fran Schickedantz - Membership Committee: Jenise Abdul-Razaaq, Denise Brown, Janie Dominique, Jennifer Feather, Debbie Fritz, Roddy Hurewitz, Tiffany Jacobs, and Sue Mengert. Holiday cards with membership directories were sent out 12/12/20 Branch Roster from National			
	70 members counting the 2 Life Members Those listed as new members in 2020: Armstrong, Nikki			
	Bond, Mitzi Caress, Virginia – Transfer from VA			
	Davidson, Una – Former member of Tucson, AZ Fritz, Debbie			
	Gathers, Dr LaToya Goodell, Suzanne			
	Hobbs, Diedre Lauten, Jessica			
	McKee, Terra Watson, Shelley			
	Williamson, Tia Not listed:			
	Mehr, Saadia - Free Ward, Paula - Free			
	Neal, Cheri - Still MAL			
	Spinks, Margaret – C/U Rep NC A & T Not Renewing:			
	Jones, Betty Hill, Barbara Hill, Jennifer			

	Record, Kim		
	Raeford, Sherri Stephens, Mary		
	New C/U Reps not listed		
Diversity/Inclusion	Everlena Diggs, chair: committee members - Peggy Knox, Tiffany Jacobs.		
Programming	G Elaine Morehead and Felicia Cherry		
	Saturday January 9 th ; 11 a.m. to 1 p.m. annual soup luncheon		
AAUW READS	November 17, 2020 Andrea Alemanni, <i>Ava Antibody</i>		
	December 8, 2020 Kelly Starling Lyons, Going Down Home with Daddy		
	January 12, 2021 Sterling B Freeman, Good Night Little Dreamer		
	February 9, 2021 Carol Boston Weatherford, Remember the Bridge, poems of a people		
College University Partners	Saundra Yates-Evans - 5 CU reps listed below with only 1 "official". Saundra recognized Mary Fran for assisting with communications with Angela Cooper, AAUW.ORG, to help update the National list.		
	Bennett College		
	Willietta Gibson, PhD		
	Interim Dean of Faculty		
	Associate Professor of Biology		
	VA-NC LSAMP Project Director		
	Office: 336-517-1203		
	wgibson@bennett.edu		
	Guilford Technical Community College		
	Laurie Bargebuhr		
	Apprenticeship Coordinator		
	Office: 336-314-8852		
	<u>lfbarge@gmail.com</u>		
	High Point University		
	Ashley B. Dreff, PhD she/her/hers		
	Director of Women and Gender Studies		
	Assistant Professor of Religion		
	Office: 336-841-9820		
	adreff@highpoint.edu		
	North Carolina A&T State University		
	Margaret I. Kanipes, PhD		
	Director, Honors Program		
	Professor of Chemistry		
	Office: 336-285-2030		
	mikanipe@ncat.edu		
	UNC Greensboro		
	Nakia Hoskins		
	Community Engagement Associate		
	Office: (336) 256-0107		

Call for nominations for President Elect and Finance Officer	
Tiffany Fearrington	
February 7 th : 3D TinkerCAD Jewelry Design and 3D Manufacturing, Kimberly Brown, Leader	
January 24: Codeista, Riya Kannan, Leader	
January 2 nd : GIS and Drones, NC A&T SU, Terra McKee, Leader	
UPCOMING PROGRAMS	
HTML Website Christmas List – December 5 th , Suhani Ramchandra, Leader	
Lights, Camera, Action – October 31 st , Lauryn Wynn, Leader Lights, Camera, Action – November 28 th , Lauryn Wynn, Leader	
Code for Change – Sept through October – Kimberly Brown, Leader	
COMPLETED PROGRAMS SINCE OCTOBER BOARD MEETING	
Tech Tank Incubator – Sanvi Korsapathy High Point Library, \$2000	
Roma Desai - Girls Code the Web, \$2000 Hope Stephens - Robots on the Run Asheboro Library, \$2000	
Results of recent NCWIT for ASPIREIT	
Laura Tew -	
Tiffany Jacobs – see attached report	
on Wednesday December 9 th , Margie Maddox, Chair	
AAUW NC has a statewide Public Policy Committee which met for the first time via Zoom	
and asks consensus/support from the Board	
President has appointed Dr. LaToya Gathers as chair for Public Policy through June 30 th	
Dahlia Ashford – outgoing chair has moved to Virginia	
library.uncg.edu	
nakia.hoskins@uncg.edu	

CHAIR FOR SPRING LUNCHEON APRIL 24 2021 -	
Book Browsers - BOOKCLUBZ -	